The Church of Panagia Spiliani

This church is located next to the castle of Knights Hospitallers and it has played a leading role in Nisyros and the surrounding islands thanks to the miraculous painting which is dug in vertical volcanic rock.

The church was built in 1600 while the katholikon was established in the cavernous cavity two centuries earlier. The festival of the Assumption lasts nine days (August 6th-15th) and it includes dancing and the tradition of "the cup of Virgin Mary". According to this custom, the first woman to lead the dance holds a mug while dancing and whoever enters the dance puts money in the mug for the Virgin and the island.

Church of Panagia Spiliani, Mandraki, Nisyros